16 Responses to “2011 March 20 21 2 43”
i cannot believe they did that to texas!!!! he had it before the 5 seconds were up!!!!!
Same ref from St. John game in Big East Tournament blew end of game time.and travel
HOW IN THE HELL IS THIS REF STILL REFEREEING? SCREWED UP THE ST. JOHN’S GAME WITH HIS ACTIONS AND HE IS STILL THOUGHT OF AS GOOD REF?
Nope, if you actually count, “thousand-one, thousand-two, thousand-three…” you’ll see it was 5 seconds. Sorry… Texas lost fair and square.
It doesn’t matter what YOU count, it matters how the ref counted it. He handed the ball to the Texas player and then the ref’s arm went out four times as he counted. Texas got screwed
who taught you to count? the hicks in arizona?
I’m not a Texas fan, but when I count I’m NOT getting 5 seconds. I think they were robbed!
I am neither a Texas nor Arizona fan and think this was a BAD call. Even watching the ref’s hand it wasn’t 5 seconds. BAD CALL! Sorry Texas!
In using my phones stopwatch I repeatedly get 5.3 seconds!!! GOOD CALL
Even if it did take 5.3 seconds, which it didn’t. You have to give the benefit of the doubt to the inbounding teams since you are relying on waving your arm rather then an official timepiece. Also, does anyone remember a team ever being called for a 5 second violation at such a crucial time when they have a timeout to use and they clearly signal for a timeout. This is inconsistent at best and borderline criminal. I get 4.7 seconds on my phone’s stopwatch from the time he is handed the ball. That was a bogus block call for the “and one” and Texas was fouled at least 3 times on their final posession.
you go by the refs hand. which only counts to 4 timeout should have been awarded bad call. they have to use their hands to give everyone their count
In the past, the rule was that you could not request a time out on an inbound play between the 4 second count and 5 second count. I am not award that the rule was ever changed. (This was the case in the 1980′s and at least in to the 1990′s.)
The Texas player had up to 4 seconds to either inbound the ball or request time out, or, up to 5 seconds to inbound the ball. He could not request time out after 4 seconds and did not inbound by 5 seconds, so the ball was turned over.
So, I believe it was the correct call and was surprised that the TV crew did not know the rule, especially the on air coaches, and the former players.
I’ve reff’ed for 14 years. I timed it to on my droid. Start it when the ref hands the ball and stop it when the player signals the timeout. Every time was slightly below 5 seconds. Plus, the ref would have blown his whistle at the 5 second count; the timeout signal occurred BEFORE the ref’s whistle.
If you go by the refs hands, yes, bad call. If you go by the actual time, it’s the correct call.
Cry me a river, Texas. This is called karma. Remember how you got into the football national championship game at the end of the 2009 season?
Yeah on the correct call when the ball struck out of bounds with one second left.
Mail (will not be published) (required)